Skip to main content

XTM Cloud 13.4

Workflow options parameters

To access the Workflow options parameters, select Configuration > Settings > Workflow > Workflow options.

Table 47. Workflow options parameters

Parameter

Description

Mandatory/Optional

Type

Valid values

Automatically finish steps where all segments are green/done

Automatically finishes steps for files that only contain green segments, e.g. In-Context Exact Matches or segments set to done (Completed) using Set ICE/leveraged matches from approved/not approved TM to done or Set non-translatables as done.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared

  • Selected (default)

Auto-finish step on its due date

Automatically finishes workflow steps.

Turns on/off the functionality on other system levels.

Enabling this parameter activates the additional Set step to "Finished" by parameter with which you can indicate a user who will be assigned to automatically finish the workflow step.

Note

The user will need to have Administrator or PM rights, while the information about the user is only stored in Project history. With this option enabled, the Auto-finish step on its due date command is added at the bottom of the Edit workflow edition window (under Configuration > Settings > Workflow > Workflow definitions > Edit workflow definition as well as under Projects > Project editor > Workflow > Workflow editor).

Optional

Checkbox

Radio buttons

Valid values:

  • As set in workflow (default) - workflow steps will be finished automatically on the same date and at the same time as set up in the workflow

  • As set in workflow, but with changed due time - workflow steps will be finished automatically on the same date, but at different time than set up in the workflow

Workflow for non-analyzable files

Assigns a separate workflow to non-analyzable files, such as .jpg files.

When enabled, makes the Workflow for non-analyzable files parameter and its options available in the project creation window.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared (default)

  • Selected

Project requires proposal approval

XTM Cloud can require authorization from Customer PM for a project to start.

You can decide whether this parameter will be available at customer and project level. To do so, select or clear the checkbox in the Enable column.

When you enable the parameter for the entire system, use the dropdown in the Default column to set the system default.

Optional

Checkbox

Dropdown

Text field

Valid values for the checkbox:

  • Cleared (default)

  • Selected

    When you select this option, the dropdown in the Default column becomes active. Use it to set the system default. Project Managers can can change it at customer and project level, if required.

    Valid values for the dropdown:

    • NoXTM Cloud does not request authorization from Customer PM.

    • YesXTM Cloud requests authorization from Customer PM.

    • Yes, but only when more than X words – After you select this option, the Words limit text field is displayed. Use it to enter the exact word number. XTM Cloud only requests authorization from Customer PM only for projects that are bigger than a specified word limit.

Pre-processing

Enables a Project Manager to create a project with a pre-processing workflow. It can be useful for:

  • locking segments so they are not taken for translation

  • editing the source text prior to analysis and translation - in this case the new source language is the same as the original source language.

  • using pivot languages - the source language is firstly translated into one language and then that target language becomes the new source for the translation into other target languages

Note

Any changes made during the pre-processing will be applicable and available in the main workflow only once the pre-processing workflow is finished.

Selecting the Default checkbox enables that option to be selected by default on the Add project form.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • No - enables pre-processing during project creation, but it is disabled by default

  • Yes, source segmentation – matches the new source text segmentation with the segmentation of the original source text.

  • Yes, new source segmentation – segments the new source text based on the content provided during the pre-processing step. As a result, the segmentation between the pre-processing and the actual translation workflow steps might vary.

Select linguists and LSPs based on full language codes

Assigns only linguists and LSPs whose language combinations fully match the project languages, including the language locale.

For example, when disabled, it is possible to assign a linguist with English (UK) source language to a project with an English (USA) source text.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared (default)

  • Selected

Automatically restart workflow when source files are updated

Automatically restarts workflows and tasks whenever source files in an existing project are updated or added.

The workflow restarts after file analysis, but only if work in the initially uploaded source files commenced. The restarted task is assigned to the user who was initially assigned to perform the step. If the user as assigned via a user group, then it is assigned to the user who accepted it.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared

  • Selected (default)

Calculate edit distance

Activates the Edit Distance Calculation metric. The EDC is based on a metric that corresponds to the number of characters edited in a target machine translated segment divided by the total number of characters in that segment.

This calculation results in an EDC score, which ranges between 0 and 1. If the score is greater than 1, then the score is rounded down to 1. A score of 1 corresponds to a segment that requires a complete edit of the machine translation output and would be reflected by the maximum amount of payment.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared

  • Selected (default)